Parakake Resolution

We the representative leaders of the stakeholders of Panguna comprising of C.O.E chairpersons, Chiefs, Youth, Women, Excombatants, Landowners and Village Assemblies, now come together in unity in this hour of danger to make a strong representation to the President of the ABG-Hon. John Momis, to ABG minister for Mines-Hon Micheal Oni, Member for Central Bougainville- Hon Jimmy Miringtoro, the United Nations representative for Bougainville, the Speaker in the House of Representative, Andrew Miriki, Bougainville Executive Council and to all members of the House of Representative to take note that the bill for an act entitled "Bougainville Mining (Transitional Arrangements) Bill 2014" in that:

1. Section 212. (2) (b) of the bill gives BCL(the holder of special mining lease immediately before the commencement of this act) an exploration license over the former SML lease.

- Section 216 of the bill gives BCL the rights to the prospecting authorities surrounding Panguna and provides for them to be dealt with under the Act;
- 3. The passage into law of a Bill with this provision violates section 23 (1) of Bougainville constitution and Article 26 of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of the Indigenous People;
- 4. The practical effect of the passage of this bill has potential to gravely destablise the progress of our peace, reconciliation and unification efforts that have taken place up until now with the real danger of creating renewed social tension and reopening the wounds from we are slowly recovering.

We hereby humbly petition the President and the house of representatives to withdraw the Bougainville Mining (Transistional Arrangements) Bill 2014 and consult with the people of Panguna and Bougainville.

Dated this on the 01st Day of August 2014 at Parakake community hall, Ioro 2 COE, Panguna District, Autonomous Region of Bougainville.

C.oE (Chiefs)

- Dini	f
Severinus Simi	Samsøn Kaissy
Sylva	(Durai
Albert Tosià	Enoch Rumasei
	ينهنو
Youth	*
Soi	40
Seth Sikai	Sebastine Oansi
BAY	Down .
Lorraine Batarima	David Somau
Women Representative	es
_ d2:	Computate
Agnes Paai	Hellen Tarudate
Kin	Keens
Cathy Kukui	Jacintha Namis
Ex-combatants	
Address	(Thurs)
Naoh Doko	Joachim Kenanai
<u></u>	(It then.
Aloysius Buuta	Dominic Bobake